Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I seem to be attracted to Robert Z. Leonard movies. Here’s another one for you.

Weekend at the Waldorf (1945) stars Ginger Rogers, Lana Turner, Walter Pidgeon, Van Johnson, Robert Benchley, & Edward Arnold.

The movie is set at the Waldorf Astoria hotel and all of the characters either are staying or working there for the weekend.

Ginger Rogers plays a lonely actress named Irene Malvern who meets a war correspondent named Chip Collyer (Walter Pidgeon) and keeps getting herself caught up with him.

Lana Turner plays Bunny Smith the hotel stenographer very similar to her character in Ziegfeld Girl. She meets Capt. James Hollis (Van Johnson) finding out that he’s set for a complicated surgery that he can only survive if he finds the will to live.

Those are the two main relationships in the film with a few other characters mixing in and out of their stories like an fraudulent deal and a sick Scottie dog.

It took me awhile to get into the movie but once it started up I enjoyed it very much. I rate it four stars.

I do really love Ginger Rogers in this as well. I know she is very well known when partnered with Fred Astaire so I look forward to seeing her in those movies. Any recommendations?